Grand Marquis Discuss the Mercury Grand Marquis here...

2000 Grand Marquis A/C Question

Search this Thread

Old 11-29-2006, 07:17 PM

Hello, noob here.

My wife inherited a 2000 Grand Marquis from her Grandfather, it's in immaculate shape except for a couple things. The one thing that has me wondering is the A/C does not seem to get cold. There was a receipt in the car for service this past August where it says they filled the A/C system.

Here's what I noticed...

If the car is running at idle, everything works fine. With the heat, hot or cold vented air etc, everything runs fine. However, when we turn on the A/C or either hot or cold defrost, there is a spinning sound that starts and repeats itself every 3 seconds.

I checked the belt assembly, and the A/C Clutch Plate (the three bolted dealie on the front of the A/C compressor shown below is where the spinning sound is coming from...

[img]uploads/Mechamaniac/671A4_84872208.gif[/img]

When this happens, the serpentine tensioner arm moves forward a couple of inches as well, no doubt providing extra tension on the clutch assembly so that it can spin the compressor. The clutch plate spins rapidly for about 1 second, then stops, after 3 seconds, it does it again and keeps doing this as long as we have either the AC or the Defroster on.

I'm guessing that I need a new A/C Compressor, but I'm not sure. Has anyone here experienced this problem, and is it common to the Grand Marquis? Any idea how much it would cost to get it fixed?

Thanks!

Edited by: Mechamaniac

Old 12-01-2006, 06:46 PM

Failure of the A/C compressor is not anoverlycommon problem. The A/C clutch is designed to cycle on and off during normal operation, however, it's not supposed to cycle as fast as you describe.

There a couple of things that I'm aware of that might cause your A/C to cut-off in the way you describe.