Go Back   Mercury Forum - Mercury Enthusiasts Forums > Vehicle Line Up > Sable
Sign in using an external account
Register Forgot Password?
Search


Reply
 
 
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
  #1  
Old 12-22-2008, 08:04 AM
a_fan a_fan is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: United States
Posts: 5
Default



2002 Sable, automatic climate control (no lo - med - hi control ****, has the +,- digital adjustment)


Intermittnet problem - when I turn car on, all heat is directed through front defrost mode. Air is not really too hot (A problem becase it is 1 deg F outside right now). Blows on hi speed. Turning on/ off the automatic climate control (switching modes, etc) has no effect.


I have removed the glove box to look for resistor but I can''t seem to find one. Does the auto climate control module do the resisting or should I keep looking?


Additionally, the oustide temperature indicator is not reading correctly (about 12 deg too low). This has been a problem for a year now - appears unrelated.


What should I do to fix blower problem?


Thanks, Bob
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-22-2008, 12:48 PM
slymer slymer is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: United States
Posts: 1,361
Default

replace the resistor pack and/or the wire harness going to it. I had the same issue with my 88 with the auto-temp control. the resistor pack controls the speed of the blower motor and is bypassed when on hi. it should be located on the firewall behind the engine near the heater core. (I say should, because that''s where it''s been located on every car I''ve ever worked on, but then I''ve never worked on a car that new.)

as far as the outside temperature sensor, I have no clue where that is or how that works. That does sound like a bad sensor or a corroded connection to the sensor causing higher resistance in line making the temp read wrong.
__________________
Only two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity, and I'm not sure about the former. -- Albert Einstein

I've abandoned this ship in favor of other forums that actually have active admins.
Peace!
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-22-2008, 04:22 PM
a_fan a_fan is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: United States
Posts: 5
Default



THANKS!


I pulled the part. Where do I get a replacement? Junkyard? Ford? I found a couple different part numbers on it YF3H-19E624-AB, F50F-14B129-AA.


I also borke a fitting for a (vacuum?) small hose that was fastened to the part. I think I''ll get a double ended hose barb to fix that.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-22-2008, 09:33 PM
slymer slymer is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: United States
Posts: 1,361
Default

I got mine from a dealer parts house. if you need the wire harness, you can get those at autozone for a song compared to a dealer. (got mine for $13 and dealer part listed at $60... the resistor pack was $35 I think)
__________________
Only two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity, and I'm not sure about the former. -- Albert Einstein

I've abandoned this ship in favor of other forums that actually have active admins.
Peace!
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-04-2009, 11:07 AM
a_fan a_fan is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: United States
Posts: 5
Default



Would that explain the inability to select modes/ temp control?


Here''s what I''ve done as of this weekend:<BR itxtvisited="1"><BR itxtvisited="1">Replaced the radio/ climate control head unit.<BR itxtvisited="1"><BR itxtvisited="1">Replaced the Remote Climate Control (RCU) unit.<BR itxtvisited="1"><BR itxtvisited="1">Replaced the blower controller module.<BR itxtvisited="1"><BR itxtvisited="1">Checked all obvious fuses. <BR itxtvisited="1"><BR itxtvisited="1">Visually inspected blower relay.<BR itxtvisited="1"><BR itxtvisited="1">Visually inspected wiring as best I could without peeling away tape


Problem still exists
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-04-2009, 01:22 PM
slymer slymer is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: United States
Posts: 1,361
Default

well, if you''ve replaced everything else and still have the problem, then it must be the one thing that''s left... the resistor pack.
__________________
Only two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity, and I'm not sure about the former. -- Albert Einstein

I've abandoned this ship in favor of other forums that actually have active admins.
Peace!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-04-2009, 01:23 PM
slymer slymer is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: United States
Posts: 1,361
Default

and yes, it would prevent you from being able to select auto control... the auto doesn''t always select high fan and if it doesn''t it will see like it''s not working.
__________________
Only two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity, and I'm not sure about the former. -- Albert Einstein

I've abandoned this ship in favor of other forums that actually have active admins.
Peace!
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-04-2009, 03:10 PM
a_fan a_fan is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: United States
Posts: 5
Default



What resistorpack are you talking about? The vehicles with EATC (like mine) don''t use the standard resistors. Instead, they use a "blower controller". This serves a similar purpose. I just replaced it today with no success.


Please correct me if i''m wrong.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-04-2009, 05:36 PM
slymer slymer is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: United States
Posts: 1,361
Default

then the design has changed since the 90s. my 88 has the ATC and still uses the resistor pack. I guess the E-ATC did away with the resistor pack and embedded it in the blower controller.

I wish I had a wiring diagram to look at, but Autozone seems to be broken at the moment.
__________________
Only two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity, and I'm not sure about the former. -- Albert Einstein

I've abandoned this ship in favor of other forums that actually have active admins.
Peace!
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01-04-2009, 06:45 PM
a_fan a_fan is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: United States
Posts: 5
Default



Here''s one from a Chilton''s that is very accurate


Sable.zip
Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2009, 06:45 PM
 
 
 
Reply

Tags
19e624, ab, automatic, crown, f50f14b129aa, f50f19e624cd, ford, mercury, number, part, resistor, sable, victoria, villager, yf3h, yf3h19e624ab

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Advertising

Featured Sponsors
Vendor Directory
Our Sponsors
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:59 PM.

Internet Brands, Inc.