Grand Marquis Discuss the Mercury Grand Marquis here...

Cd player info and questions. . .

Search this Thread

Old 07-26-2010, 07:17 PM
Question Cd player info and questions. . .

Hello, I'm new to the Mercuryforum.com and I just recently got a 92 Mercury Grand Marquis. I have the stock radio in it now and everything is all origanal. But ever since I've had my licence I've always had a after market cd player, anyways since I don't have a cd player in it now, I plan to get either a aftermarket radio or a factory Ford cd player or Mercury cd player that will fit in there perfectly. Does anyone know what model car comes with a cd player that will fit into my Grand Marquis perfectly with out modification? Also how do I know if my car has the factory amp installed? If My car does have a factory amp will I be able to install a aftermarket cd player? If I can hook up a aftermarket cd player will I need a installation kit? Also does anyone have pictures of thier cd players in there car?

Thanks for your time reading this.

Old 07-28-2010, 03:05 AM
Super Moderator

i go to walmart and get the wiring kit for car specified... on these cars i use the power wiring to power the radio and run new lines to speakers... you might be able to use the speaker part of the wiring kit, but car i just did stereo in i ran new lines to rear speakers after removing back seat and also installed new rear speakers. car i did this to had factory amp in it so the wiring kit provided i couldnt use from kit. i hacked into the wires in the trunk and ran speaker lines from stereo to wires running out of the amp that worked door speakers. i can help out more if you get the kit and try to use the wiring to install it first to see if it powers the speakers... if speakers dont work after hooking it up, you most likely have factory amp and need to hack the wiring like i did and i can tell you how to do so

Old 07-28-2010, 11:17 AM