Grand Marquis Discuss the Mercury Grand Marquis here...

Rear Passenger Window Regulator Bad

Search this Thread

Old 06-29-2009, 03:59 PM
Default Rear Passenger Window Regulator Bad

The rear passenger window regulator in my 96 Grand Marquis seems to not be working. The motor tests good but the window will not go up or down. If I manually put the window up and power the motor as if the window were up it stays for a few days but eventually the window will drop back down.

Does anyone have a tutorial and a web site where I can purchase the unit? I have never done a window regulator before.

Thanks

Old 06-29-2009, 06:22 PM

It's probably not the regulator. it's probably the nylon plugs in the motor. they tend to disintegrate. I replaced all the plugs in my land yachts with ball bearings. I won't have that problem again. If you already know how to get the door panel off and get to the window motor, then it's an easy fix. just take the motor out, take the screw off the gear cover, pop off the gear cover (sometimes this can be stubborn), and replace the plugs. do take care to clear out all the broken nylon bits so it doesn't jam in the future. The ball bearings should be 7/16 or near to that. take the motor out and take it to a hardware store when you buy the bearings to make sure.

If it really is the regulator, it can be got at most auto parts places for about $35-ish.

removing the regulator however requires lots of drilling out rivets and is a major pain in the neck.

Old 06-30-2009, 12:50 PM

So a metal ball bearing will seat where the nylon plugs were? The door panel is off but I have not removed the motor yet . This actually sounds like an easier/cheaper fix than the regulator.

Thanks

Old 06-30-2009, 04:24 PM

yes, just make sure to get the right size ball bearing. too small and it'll flop a lot, too big and it won't fit.

Old 06-30-2009, 04:56 PM