New Member Area Are you new?? WELCOME! Check in, tell us about yourself and your ride...

Newbie here from Southport, NC

Search this Thread

Old 08-17-2018, 02:01 PM
Default Newbie here from Southport, NC

Hello, everyone. Recently purchased a nice, one owner, low miles 96 Grand Marquis. So far, I have really enjoyed it. These are some of the most overlooked bargains around. Big, comfy, awesome ride and handling, good fuel economy, as well. Mine has the performance package with the 3:27 rear end and I still get 25 MPG highway. Why anyone would opt for a pricey econobox is way beyond me. Hope to learn some good info from other owners. I am looking to replace my factory Cassette stereo with a factory CD player. If anyone knows what years will interchange, please let me know. Also, are the plugs on the back of the stereo all the same?

Old 08-20-2018, 10:43 AM

Hello, Timekeeper, and welcome to the Mercury Forums !!
City and State where you live ??
Is your rig a GS or an LS ??
How many miles on the clock ??
What features are included in the "performance package" ??
I need to know this stuff in order to advise.
Click on my name and profile to see pix of my '95 Grand Marquis Restoration -- there is an itemized list of modifications and part numbers in one of my earlier posts.
Your '96 should be almost identical to my '95 -- most part numbers will interchange.
As for that stereo -- don't fool around !! Go to Crutchfield.com to find out everything you need to know about what is available, what will fit, and get a general idea of the overall cost.

Old 08-21-2018, 11:29 AM