Mercury  Forum - Mercury Enthusiasts Forums

Mercury Forum - Mercury Enthusiasts Forums (https://www.mercuryforum.com/forum/)
-   Sable (https://www.mercuryforum.com/forum/sable-13/)
-   -   Distributor help (https://www.mercuryforum.com/forum/sable-13/distributor-help-5120/)

teroot 11-07-2010 07:26 PM

Distributor help

Bought a 93 Sable that needed a head gasket replaced. I've never worked on a car with a distributor before, so when I removed it to take out the rear head, I had no idea I should have been marking it so I could put it back in the same way. Also like a fool, instead of just removing the cap, I took out the whole thing, shaft and all. I took pictures of the engine before I took it all apart so I can get the cap back in the same position, but something tells me that doesn't really matter since it can spin 360°. A friend of mine told me I have a 50/50 chance of getting it right, and if it runs rough when I start it back up, just put it in the other way. Is he right? It doesn't seem to make sense with the gear at the bottom of the shaft, how can that only go in 2 ways? Thanks for any help!

mtnlovrs 11-07-2010 10:59 PM

You are correct in questioning your friend.

There is a way to do it correctly. First, set the number one cylinder to top dead center (TDC) of the compression stroke. Since your engine is transversely mounted, the number one cylinder is on the passenger's side and towards the rear of the engine compartment. To accomplish this, use a ratchet to turn the crankshaft pulley nut clockwise until the timing marks on the pulley line up with the pointer on the front of the engine. Line the TDC or zero degree mark up with the pointer. Remove the number one spark plug and insert a screwdriver into the hole about one to two inches. You should feel the top of the piston. If not, remove the screwdriver and rotate the engine a full revolution (repeating the previous process). The engine is now set at TDC of the compression stroke.