Grand Marquis Discuss the Mercury Grand Marquis here...

Grand Marquis Tuner

Search this Thread

Old 09-13-2020, 08:45 PM
Default Grand Marquis Tuner

I've been looking into getting my recently acquired 2007 grand marquis tuned. I originally wanted the sct x4 tuner but I discovered they didn't have preloaded tunes and that was a deal breaker for me. Im looking for some suggestions for tuners for my specified car that can do the following things:
  • Has preloaded tunes
  • Can remove the speed limiter
  • Can calibrate speedometer for aftermarket gear ratios
Any advice helps. This is my first time using this forum and i'll most likely be coming back for any other questions I have. Thanks in advance.

Old 11-20-2020, 09:21 AM

You MAY want to do the Tuning yourself, instead of relying on the parameters available from a "Store-Bought" tuner program.
You will need:
A LAPTOP computer that has Windows 10 installed.
Download "FORScan" (@forscan.app) into the laptop. It's FREE for a trial period. FORScan is a diagnostic app for FORD vehicles.
OBDLinkEX is a diagnostic scan tool that plugs into your OBD socket (under dash) and connects to your laptop's USB port. Instructions on the package are simple and easy-to-follow. Need help?? Go to "obdlink.com/support".
OBDLink EX will give out Dealership-level Ford/Lincoln/Mercury diagnostics with lightning-fast data transfers.
Comes with 3-Year Warranty. I got mine from A m a z o n.com -- about 50 clams.
Pre-loaded tunes !?? That's gonna be a tough gig, since there are so many variables on modern vehicles, including engine and transmission options, climate variables, and driving styles.
I don't know of any tuner programs that allow Speed Limiter removal -- it's NOT a good idea, since it's there for specific reasons determined by a flock of automotive engineers.
In stock form, your factory-tuned Grand Marquis will top out at 110 mph. If ya wanna go faster than that, get a different car.