Grand Marquis Discuss the Mercury Grand Marquis here...

Turbo 89

Search this Thread

Old 02-14-2008, 09:45 PM

< src="http://www.google-analytics.com/urchin.js" =text/>
</>
So, i was thinking today, i have an 89 Grand Marquis 5.0L V8 302, and wanted to turbo it, but i had a few questions.

- What will the computer allow as far as boost pressure? Will it adjust fuel and spark automattically? How much boost will it allow?

- How much boost will the stock bottom end take?

Those are the main ones for now, if anyone could help, I would really appritiate it. Thanks!!!
< =text/>
_uacct = "UA-939292-45";
urchinTracker();
</>

Old 02-14-2008, 10:05 PM

Well, I'm not an expert in this field but I can tell you that the computer will not compensate for any added boost from a turbo. I think reprogramming or replacement of the computer will be needed. I'm pretty sure a high volumn fuel pump will be needed. That could mean changes to the whole fuel line system(higher pressure fuel line), fuel rails, and injectors. The recirculation of exhaust that is then forced into the intake of the engine, I would be more concerned about the stock top end of the engine not the bottom. I think if you purchase a turbo kit for your make and model that it will give all the rest of the info you require to make the most of the kit you can. Good luck and let me know.

Old 02-15-2008, 02:01 PM

</>
Alright, well, this car has a MAP sensor right? If it does, i can just put a T fitting on the vacume line inline to the MAP sensor, which will bleed the boost off, so the MAP doesnt read boost, and the ECM doesnt see anything as far as boost. Stock fuel system should be ok, im only running 6PSI to start with. I think i could just use an adjustable fuel pressure regulator and it would be fine, just up the pressure a bit. Would spark need adjusted for only 6PSI?? Also, how much boost can this engine stand up to? Thanks again!!
< =text/>
_uacct = "UA-939292-45";
urchinTracker();
</>

Old 02-15-2008, 03:18 PM