Mountaineer Discuss the Mercury Mountaineer here...

Anyone Help??

Search this Thread

Old 02-01-2009, 10:10 PM

I am new to Mercury as I got a really good deal on this mountaineer from my mother in-law after my wifes little sister hit a snow bank and caused a mild roll. I tryed to start the truck and it cranks over for about three to four seconds and then nothing. Is there any sensors or kill switch that could be causing it to not turn over? Its a 2004 with the 4.0 in it.

Old 02-03-2009, 03:38 PM

it''s probably the fuel cut-off switch.

click over to www.motorcraftservice.com and download the manual for your vehicle if you don''t already have it.

The info for the fuel cut-off switch is on page 175 of the 3rd printing that I downloaded.

Here''s the info:

FUEL PUMP SHUT-OFF SWITCH FUEL RESET
The fuel pump shut-off switch is a device intended to stop the electric fuel pump when your vehicle has been involved in a substantial jolt.
After a collision, if the engine cranks but does not start, the fuel pump shut-off switch may have been activated.
The fuel pump shut-off switch is located in the passenger’s foot well, by the kick panel.
Use the following procedure to reset the fuel pump shut-off switch.
1. Turn the ignition to the OFF position.
2. Check the fuel system for leaks.
3. If no fuel leak is apparent, reset the fuel pump shut-off switch by pushing in on the reset button.
4. Turn the ignition to the ON position. Pause for a few seconds and return the key to the OFF position.
5. Make a further check for leaks in the fuel system.

Old 02-03-2009, 06:45 PM

I have tried the fuel switch, Now it cranks but wont start and the theft light is flashing in the cluster

Old 02-06-2009, 11:06 AM