Mystique Discuss the Mercury Mystique here...

99 mystique, clean gas lines?

Search this Thread

Old 12-12-2008, 07:50 PM

I''ve had this car for about 5 years. 3 years ago I got a truck as i work in construction, and a sedan isn''t feasible. last year, i was moving out of my apt, and had to move the car, I jumped it, it ran fine until i pulled the cables off. easy fix, gave the battery full charge, changed the alternator, good to go. I moved it to my shop, (metal fab) where it has sat for the last year. Now I''m trying to sell it, my wife is pregnant and I''d rather have cash than a car in my yard.
Here''s the problem:
I had to jump it again, no suprise. it would turn over, but it wouldn''t fire up. Sprayed starter fluid in the intake. runs great. . . on starter fluid. there''s no pressure at the fuel rail.
I can''t hear the pump prime, but it''s noisy where the car is located, so I don''t know if it works. I reset it, checked the relays, did all the crap the manual suggests. I''m wondering, since it''s basically been sitting for 3 years (with a full tank of gas) could any buildup have settled and be clogging the lines? can i take an air compressor and put it on the fuel rail, blast it out? I''m not a mechanic, don''t yell at me for a stupid question. How does one clean the injectors? If I do have to replace the pump, is it inline or in the tank? or maybe the fuel filter? I don''t want to put alot of money in the car just to sell it, was hoping to sell it to a mechanic, but I don''t think thats going to happen. Also, while working on it, I seem to have locked the keys in it. ha. anyway to get that out without a locksmith? http://greenville.craigslist.org/bar/951441070.html

Old 12-12-2008, 09:04 PM

if you know how to use a slim jim, you can unbend an old wire hanger and unlock the door.