New Member Area Are you new?? WELCOME! Check in, tell us about yourself and your ride...

babaloo09

Search this Thread

Old 09-07-2009, 09:32 PM
Default babaloo09

I'm an oldie whose a newbie here. I bought a 1993 Merc villager that has a few quirks. I'vd owned many cars over the years, but this is my 1'st Merc. So I'll have some questions along the way.
Bob

Old 09-13-2009, 09:57 AM

welcome... mercury cars are really good cars so im sure youll grow to love your mercury... i know i have... you said you were having a few problews though.. What all is wrong with it?

Old 09-17-2009, 09:01 PM
Default babaloo09

hi kwolfman,
thanks for the welcome. my problem now is the starting. sometimes it starts right away & sometimes it acts like the motor is seized after the starter kicks in. after that happens, i try 1 or 2 times more & it will start. i have replaced the starter & put in a new battery, but it has the same problem. Bob

Old 09-18-2009, 07:31 AM

do you hear the starter engage when this happens? If the starter isn't actually engaging, you could have a relay or switch problem (ie: the switch in the key start switch). If it's the key, taking the cylinder out and cleaning the contacts may fix that.

If the starter is engaging and just not turning the engine, you may have gotten a bum starter (it happens). It may also be mounted too tight and need a shim to give it a but of play to help with the initial hit.

Old 09-18-2009, 12:40 PM

I have no idea what to tell you... it may be the starter and it may be the alternator idk...

Old 09-18-2009, 04:04 PM

oh yeah... check that all the cables are tight (battery cables, cables to the starter, etc.) If any of that (especially the battery cables) are loose, it could cause many other issues.

Old 09-18-2009, 04:40 PM

thanks guys for your replies. I'll give your answers a try tomorrow & see what happens.
Bob

Old 09-19-2009, 03:11 PM
Arrow Villager / Quest site