General Tech Help Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here...

Need a New Gas Cap

  #1  
Old 01-10-2015, 11:04 AM
Junior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 2
Default Need a New Gas Cap

Went to Advance Auto after I was told that I had a recovery leak. Rep suggested that I needed a new Gas Cap and that might fix my code problem. Asked him after I purchased a new cap could he erase the code? He said he could not do it so I returned the cap. He said that the car would correct the code and the light would go out after driving 50 to 100 miles, is this possible?
 
  #2  
Old 03-09-2015, 06:09 PM
Junior Member
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Norton Shores, MI.
Posts: 4
Default

Yes, that is possible but the code will be stored in your pcm memory until cleared. The light on the dash may go off after a short period of time. They really can't clear a code as a matter of practice, liability concerns.
 
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
troycowanmp
Tracer
0
08-16-2012 10:00 PM
cpoleary
Grand Marquis
1
04-30-2011 01:26 AM
fju2112
Sable
2
07-13-2010 06:58 AM
olds97_lss
Grand Marquis
4
07-06-2008 10:12 AM
hvymtlfan
Villager
2
11-03-2005 01:12 AM


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: Need a New Gas Cap


Advertising
Featured Sponsors
Vendor Directory

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.