Grand Marquis Discuss the Mercury Grand Marquis here...

New Member 87 MGM Start From Scratch

Search this Thread

Old 01-21-2008, 11:35 PM

Hey everyone,
I'm new to the forum and just begining a project on a 1987 MGM. I bought the car with only 97,000 mi. for $700. He had the list of records of upkeep on the car from its "birth." Also had the full suspension rebuilt to match that of the police model and duel Flowmaster exhaust. The car was wrecked yesterday on the passenger side and I figured that would be a great place to start.... Body and Paint... I am going to continue posting progressive photos of my work and asking for any suggestions along the way. Like I said, I'm new to the whole forum thing so bare with me. Well, Here's what the car looks like at this point. (Only have photos of the wrecked parts, will add pics of the rest of the car by the weekend once i get a chance to detail it.) I've got a friend who paints and I do body work so the insurance adjustors check they cut will be stretched a lot further than most. As it stands right now I am going to paint it a Black base coat, Gloss black, Holographic flake clear coat, then top it off with a baby purple pearl (just for a hint of color in the light.) I should have a set of 24's for it by the weekend (have to do a small lift) unit, kenwood tweeters and crossovers, and infinity 6x9. The subs are only half way done... I have 2x JL Audio 13w1 and a JL 500.1 amp. Want to build a custom box into the wheel well and deck the trunk off for 4x 13' so they'll be in my house for a bit. The stereo system is currently sitting in my living room untill all components are purchased. So far i have an Alpine 9835 heads and 2x JL 500.1.
So farthat is where stand and any advice or suggestions on this would be greatly appreciated.