Milan Discuss the newest sedan to the line up, the Mercury Milan...

Tire Pressure System

  #1  
Old 08-28-2008, 01:00 AM
Junior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: United States
Posts: 18
Default

What happens when you replace the wheels with aftermarkets? Is there a way to cut it off?
 
  #2  
Old 08-31-2008, 07:05 PM
Senior Member
Join Date: May 2008
Location:
Posts: 455
Default

Yes these is... I am guessing you did not put the sensor back in the new tires?
 
  #3  
Old 09-01-2008, 04:40 PM
Junior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: United States
Posts: 18
Default

I havent changed them yet, but the sensors had me wondering before I just popped some on.
 
  #4  
Old 09-01-2008, 08:28 PM
Senior Member
Join Date: May 2008
Location:
Posts: 455
Default

if you can, put the sensors on the new tires if they are not mounted yet on the new rims..
 
  #5  
Old 09-05-2008, 01:37 AM
Junior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: United States
Posts: 18
Default



Originally Posted by jason sereiko
if you can, put the sensors on the new tires if they are not mounted yet on the new rims..

Its something I''ll buy once my factory tires need replacing then I was going to buy aftermarket rims and tires to put on the car. I''m only at 3300 miles so I have awhile.


So the senors can be taken off and put on the aftermarket rims? Or are the sensors mounted on the tires? j/w Thanks for the help!
 
  #6  
Old 09-05-2008, 08:54 AM
Senior Member
Join Date: May 2008
Location:
Posts: 455
Default



Yes you can put the sensors you have on the new rims. The tire place the mounts and does the balance can do that.


But if you are getting new rims and tires, it might be cheaper to get new sensors from the tire place. this is so that you can keep your old tires and rims with out them having to unmount them and remount them. The you can sell you old stuff or keep them when you sell the car or use them for the winter months so you do not mess up the new tires and rims.
 
  #7  
Old 09-05-2008, 08:56 AM
Senior Member
Join Date: May 2008
Location:
Posts: 455
Default



I would have sensors on the car, but ask them if they can bypass the sensors on the new setup you are getting to save some bucks. some places do this and some do not. There might be laws in some states that require that you keep the sensors on the tires. check your local laws.


anyway you might be able to save some money if bypassing them is an option for you. the tire place knows how to do that
 
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
BCmerc
General Tech Help
11
02-16-2019 02:35 PM
shanghaihao
Grand Marquis
1
12-31-2008 12:46 PM
Harvest Gold
Sable
2
10-09-2008 08:06 AM
SEFH
Mountaineer
0
11-20-2006 09:55 AM
steve
Mountaineer
8
01-20-2006 12:01 AM


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: Tire Pressure System


Advertising
Featured Sponsors
Vendor Directory

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.