Grand Marquis Discuss the Mercury Grand Marquis here...

1991 Grand Marquis trouble shooting

Old 09-17-2010, 02:38 AM
Default 1991 Grand Marquis trouble shooting

Ok i have a 1991 Grand Marquis GS 4.9L (5.0) 302 windsor v-8 62k on engine,trans,body.

I'm a fledging mechanic that is going to schooling for mechanics and my job currently is a tire buster at a local shop. I have 4 years experience into mechanics and after owning this car for a few months i would like to tackle the problems i have been having with it and need the input of other MGM owners. If you have any answers or even ideas they would be greatly appreciated
Current work: Valve cover gaskets, Intake gasket, Throttle Postion Sensor(TPS), EGR valve, PCV valve, spark plugs, secondary wires, cap, rotor, fender mounted starter solenoid, fuel filter.

1.) The transmission will not shift into overdrive, when it comes time to shift into OD the car just revs up when throttle is applied as if it where in neutral. The problem is fixed when i drop it into 3rd gear but im wasting alot of MPG by not being able to shift into OD. Heard a rumor that it is a modulator valve or whatever the part is that is run off of manifold vaccum?

2.) The engine seems to idle at erratic levels at times and will even self accelerate when driving during this issue. No clue to the problem of this after i replaced the TPS.

3.) Coolant seems to just evaporate within a month. No leaking or burning, just dissapears after time. Not a big concern as i can add coolant/water easily and free.

4.) Gas mileage seems to be extremely bad, if i have a 1/4 tank than i can only drive for about 30 mins(regardless of city/HW). Full tank only lasts 2 hours or less!! Someone told me that they had a 91 MGM and the fuel sending unit used to read the gas the wrong way, anyone else with this problem?