Sable Discuss the Mercury Sable here...

Just quit working

  #1  
Old 09-03-2008, 09:17 PM
Junior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: United States
Posts: 6
Default

Drove it yesterday and now today it won''t start. I have no spark. Turns over OK. Am looking for ideas where to start. The car has a 3.0 OHV with 169k on it. I changed out the coil pack but that didn''t help. So what''s next?
 
  #2  
Old 09-04-2008, 09:10 PM
Junior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: United States
Posts: 6
Default




So the now I''ll try is the crankshaft position sensor. This is located under the waterpump, back towards the firewall. Its easy to get at. According the Chilton book, you should measure 1.5volts DC on the wires leading to the sensor from the PCM, which I have. You should then be able to measure an AC voltage from the sensor as the motor turns. The sensor is a hall affect sensor, so the voltage should pulse. My sensor has no pulsing, so I''ll try this next. (cost:$35-40) Or does anyone know the AC voltage that should created as the crankshaft turns? I also took the sensor off and passed a wrench by the sensor and there was no real measurement of AC voltage. I have a cheesy analog meter I bought since I thought my digital meter might not read the pulse correctly. Other ideas?
Edited by: ringo
 
  #3  
Old 09-06-2008, 07:44 PM
Senior Member
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 859
Default

My guess is still a crank pos. sensor due to the symptoms. No probs with the cam sensor which can give you the same headache, right? Go pull one off a junker and try it. Let me know.
 
  #4  
Old 09-07-2008, 03:31 PM
Senior Member
Join Date: May 2008
Location:
Posts: 455
Default



you really need a better handhels to read this correctly. you can be not getting a good curent if it is dirty or has some build up on the part ypou are testing. If it does not pulse, that does not mean it would not start the car. But if it is not pulsing and has low volts then it is bad. It should pulse when it is running and this is not the case with your car.


If there was no measurement of volts, then it is bad. all most all sensors should have 1.5 volts that have a relay connected to them,.


For something like this, I would replace the sensor because you changed the packs.
 
  #5  
Old 09-07-2008, 03:33 PM
Senior Member
Join Date: May 2008
Location:
Posts: 455
Default

man how I use to love the simple distributors.
 
  #6  
Old 09-07-2008, 03:56 PM
Junior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: United States
Posts: 6
Default

Update: tried 2 different crankshaft sensors from different auto parts stores. Susposedly according to the parts guy, buying a crankshaft sensor is a crap shoot. The OBDII has no error messages. According to the book it can read if there is a problem on the crankshaft sensor. Tried a camshaft sensor. Hey, why not! Still S.O.L. Yes, I do have voltage coming from the PCM to each sensor. I''m thinking it jumped on the timing chain at this point. I hear it fire once out the exhaust. Where is my BIG Hammer!
 
  #7  
Old 09-07-2008, 06:45 PM
Senior Member
Join Date: May 2008
Location:
Posts: 455
Default

do you know if your timming belt is ok?
 
  #8  
Old 09-10-2008, 08:43 PM
Junior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: United States
Posts: 6
Default

So I tried replacing the CCRM, this sits next to your battery and supplies power to the PCM. Bought 2 at the junk yard, still no good. Still no error codes from the ODBII. No blown fuses. Yep the big hammer is about to come out. I should have known not to buy a DorF product. Fix or repair Daily.
 
  #9  
Old 09-12-2008, 08:43 PM
Senior Member
Join Date: May 2008
Location:
Posts: 455
Default



Ringo, i think you might have two problems going on here. when it turns over does it turn over faster then normal when you jump it.


I really think your timming belt is one of them. it is slipping or broke. this is why the check enginelights are not comming on and all the sensors are checking out.
 
  #10  
Old 10-14-2008, 09:17 AM
Junior Member
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: United States
Posts: 5
Default

I have the same problem. I''m not very mechanically inclined but my Dad has the car at his shop with a Chilton''s book and has been testing everything he can get to. Also changed the timing chain. It hadn''t jumped yet but was halfway there andwe''d already gotten down to it and bought a chain. Fuel pump wasn''t working (maybe just from sitting so long), so replaced that along w/ filter. Still not starting. About to give up on DIY and take it to Dealership. No codes are coming up now, lost all the old codes when we unnhooked the battery. If I take it to dealer I''ll let you know what they say.
 
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
yonderfishin
Sable
0
08-30-2011 06:11 PM
oldcougar
Cougar
0
07-10-2011 07:43 AM
RSCHWARTZ
Sable
2
03-10-2011 02:54 AM
1996 green sab
Sable
10
08-13-2008 12:50 PM
VaDancer
Grand Marquis
0
03-20-2006 02:32 PM


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: Just quit working


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.