Sable Discuss the Mercury Sable here...

No Power @ A/C Compressor

  #1  
Old 06-09-2011, 05:03 PM
Junior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: PA all day...
Posts: 22
Question No Power @ A/C Compressor

I recently replaced my compressor because the old one was leaking from the housing of the compressor. I had it vacuumed and charged but the compressor and fan did not kick. Also the low side pressure was maxed out upon charging. I checked relays and fuses but I came up empty. What else would kill power at the compressor?
 
  #2  
Old 06-13-2011, 05:49 PM
Junior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: PA all day...
Posts: 22
Default

Apparently, one of the fuses wasn't making contact with metal. The pin must have been ballooned from poking a teast lead in there or something. Now, one of the fans does not kick. I'll be checking into that. Big up to Manderbach Ford in Muhlenburg, PA...
 
  #3  
Old 06-14-2011, 03:41 PM
Junior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: PA all day...
Posts: 22
Default

I'm getting battery voltage at each fan connector. I swapped all the relays around and each fan relay started the sable. I swapped the connectors at the fans. Both connectors made the PS fan run. Neither connctor made the DS fan run. Methinks I need a cooling fan.
 
  #4  
Old 06-19-2011, 04:24 PM
Junior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: PA all day...
Posts: 22
Default

I oredered a cooling fan. It turns out there's a TSB out on a grumbling noise pertaining to the fan. I actually heard the noise, too. I also replaced the autolite junk *** plugs with motorcraft plugs and it runs great. Just lettin' y'all know...
 
  #5  
Old 08-07-2011, 02:32 AM
Member
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Kansas
Posts: 54
Default

Refering to your compressor not running... Because of the low pressure switch, the compressor will not run until the switch senses adequate pressure. This is a safety device to protect your compressor from damage should you develope a refridgerant leak. When you replace your compressor, you have to jumper in your compressor to force it to run long enough to take a charge. When I did mine, I simply unplugged the electrical connector from the compressor and added a fused jumper directly from the battery. This engages the compressor clutch. Then I started the engine and ran the AC @ max while adding one full can of refridgerant. Then I shut it down and reconnected the the electrical connector and finished charging the system. It works every time... I hope this helps.
 
  #6  
Old 08-14-2011, 07:23 PM
Junior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: PA all day...
Posts: 22
Default

The ac works great now. It was all electrical. I still have the P1633 code though. The car stumbles when I run the ac or turn the steering wheel all the way to one direction. I think this could be electrical too. Also my remote doesn't work eventhough the battery and signal test good. There was a buttload of B-codes in the system. Maybe a common ground or something like that...
 
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
mano
Grand Marquis
5
06-28-2008 07:37 PM
bigred
New Member Area
0
06-07-2008 10:29 AM
christyh
Tracer
0
09-15-2007 05:03 AM
dfreise
Tracer
0
05-06-2005 12:39 AM
jsouthse
Villager
3
03-28-2005 07:35 PM


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: No Power @ A/C Compressor


Advertising
Featured Sponsors
Vendor Directory

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.