Villager Discuss the Mercury Villager here...

radio question

  #1  
Old 05-25-2009, 03:55 PM
Junior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 3
Default radio question

Hi

I am trying to install an aftermarket cd player in our villager.
I got the right connectors but there is a random wire that is necessary.

There is a single wire that plugs into the factory radio right next to the antenna, it's a bit bigger and just pushes in. the end of it is round.

I don't know what it is, but the radio doesn't work without it

So does anyone know if I can just splice this into the new radio or something?

Anyone know what it's for, where it goes, what it does?

Thanks a lot.
 
  #2  
Old 06-14-2009, 03:09 PM
Member
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: The Mitten
Posts: 62
Default

the aftermarket radio probably doesn't require it.

as far as the aftermarket radio goes, all it needs is power, ground, speakers and an antenna. other things such as illumination, amplifier remote signal, antenna remote signal and ambient noise mic are optional.
 
  #3  
Old 06-14-2009, 05:12 PM
Senior Member
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: United States
Posts: 1,361
Default

that extra wire may just be a ground wire. see if you can follow it behind the dash. if it goes back into the loom, it may be for something else like steering wheel controls (if you have volume controls and such on your steering wheel. if it just kind of loops around to a metal bracket, it's a ground wire.
 
  #4  
Old 06-16-2009, 07:33 PM
Junior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 3
Default

It must be something important because the stereo won't work without it plugged in.

But we gave up on this project, anyway. Thanks for your attempted help!
 
  #5  
Old 06-18-2009, 12:33 PM
Senior Member
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 859
Default

wait wait. the new stereo won't work without it either? or just the stockie?
 
  #6  
Old 06-20-2009, 07:45 PM
Junior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 3
Default

Neither the new aftermarket stereo nor the stock radio will power on without it.
 
  #7  
Old 06-21-2009, 03:03 AM
Senior Member
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 859
Default

if everything else is hooked up right then it has to be the hot wire. maybe you have the memory wire hooked up to the newbie where that wire is supposed to be. don't give up on it, you'll be happy when you get it in. let me know.
 
  #8  
Old 06-22-2009, 03:10 PM
Senior Member
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: United States
Posts: 1,361
Default

my 88 mgm stock radio was grounded through the case to the support plate in the dash (the first aftermarket - old one on hand - deck was grounded through the antenna and the one now is the same physical dimensions as the stock one and using the stock grounding/stabilizer bracket). The Suzuki I used to have had the radio grounded through a wire attached to a bolt on the side of the mounting brackets. The 85 pontiac parisienne (chevy caprice) had a separate line for the 12V constant that clipped on the back of the stock radio. It could well be the battery line or a ground. But since the aftermarket stereo won't work without it, I'd wager it's a ground wire.
 
  #9  
Old 08-06-2014, 01:34 AM
Junior Member
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 1
Default

Hey enjoy with digital music play with unlimited storage capacity.
 
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
Krenzy
Grand Marquis
0
03-19-2013 10:05 AM
rockster81
General Tech Help
3
12-10-2012 04:05 AM
fif4evr
Grand Marquis
3
09-21-2012 09:27 PM
unit731
Sable
4
11-25-2010 10:49 PM
svaughan41
Grand Marquis
5
07-25-2010 12:42 AM


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: radio question


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.