Grand Marquis Discuss the Mercury Grand Marquis here...

1989 Marquis electrical, weak engine

Search this Thread

Old 12-01-2020, 04:33 PM
Default 1989 Marquis electrical, weak engine

Hi all,

I'm new to the Merc forum, a buddy of mine just bought an '89 with roughly 150,000 miles on it that's in really good shape. Not sure if there's a thread started for these issues or not, but if there is please point me in that direction.

First of all, it takes a really long time to start. I can hear the fuel pump, I put it in accessory and let it sit for a second to pressurize. It's definitely getting fuel, but it turns over and turns over really freely before it actually starts. When it does, the throttle response is really delayed. It has a pretty new alternator and battery just to note... I did new spark plugs, and it seems like all of them are getting some amount of spark. Interestingly, it runs alot rougher when you turn on the fan on the interior, which is why I'm led to believe the rough running is electrical. I haven't touched anything around the distributor or coil, does anyone have advice on what could be going on here? I noticed some of those connectors around the distributor are tough to disconnect, anything I should watch out for there?

The second issue is, when we're able to drive it (it rides absolutely wonderfully), the lights are pretty sporadic. The light switch decides whether you get to have dash lights on with the headlights or not, but sometimes it works great. Hazards work fine, but it refuses to signal right. It signals left at like 3 second intervals. Sometimes both directions are just fine. Thanks to this forum, I found out about lighting control module issues, but I cant find any info on modules for the '89. What kind of issues am I looking at here? I work with electricity for a living, and I'm pretty good with soldering, so I'm up to tackle that thing. Any advice?