Grand Marquis Discuss the Mercury Grand Marquis here...

Engine Replace & Rejuvinate

Search this Thread

Old 08-04-2010, 12:21 PM
Default Engine Replace & Rejuvinate

I'm a new member and I have a 1988 Grand Marquis/Colony Park wagon. It has been sitting for two years due to an oil pump seize and problably bent valve stems - motor is locked. At that time I got the same type 5.0L motor out of a 1987 Colony Park that had a shot transmision but the motor ran. So now due to a shortage of other transportation, I plan to put the 87 motor in the 88 wagon.
I realize I will need to clean out the gas tank and maybe the fuel injection rails? I have never done an engine swap before, so does anyone have some tips on what to look out for or potential problem areas on getting this car running again after two years? I'd hate to just junk it for scrap!
I appreciate any help or suggestions.

Thanks,
Bruce

Old 08-05-2010, 02:14 AM
Super Moderator

i have taken these big cars and added fresh gas to them and fire them up... i have bought a few that sat for 4 plus years. i would do oil change, coolant, tune up, fuel filter, and also plan on getting front calipers since they like to seize up after sitting so long

Old 08-05-2010, 08:40 AM

Thanks for the info 87 Crown Vic! Yes, I will have to double check the brakes after I get the car running. It is encouraging to know you have gotten this type of a car to run after sitting so long. I had my doubts if it was really worth all the work & sweat that it will take. I guess there isn't much difference, if any, between a 1987 and 1988 5.0 L motor?

Thanks again,
Bruce

Old 08-11-2010, 04:57 AM